Vintage Mustang Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part September's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
304 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A friend of mine told me that a restoration is the same as standing knee deep in parts and ripping up $100 bills...I now officially understand what he meant.

After 2 years and 2X the money that I budgeted, I thought that I could finally get a chance to drive my Mach 1. Noooooooo, the engine is coming out for a rebuild. We tried everything to combat the overheating but no dice. I'm guessing the culprit was poor prep for storage when she was garaged. Is there a special award category for extended duration doofus's or is this a gimme since I'm still a newbie? /forums/images/icons/laugh.gif

While the engine is out, I plan to have the flywheel resurfaced and replace the clutch. Does anyone have an opinion on whether I should go with a diaphragm style pressure plate vs the three finger style pressure plate? What should else should I consider while the engine is out? Or better yet, what do you wish you would have done when you did your rebuild?

On a positive note, the SWMBO has finally come around to the idea that we need a 67 or 68 cougar. /forums/images/icons/cool.gif

Thanks,

Alvin

·
Registered
5,583 Posts
You should be pleased if your only 2x over budget, I bet average is 3-4. I guess my rule of thumb on what else to do while engine is out anything you can think of, pretty vague but it works. Of course engine comparment.

Keep on trucking it will get there.

·
Banned
5,578 Posts
Count yourself lucky. After a year, I'm still trying to convince the SWMBO that we need a Mustang!

Steve

·
Premium Member
3,825 Posts
I concur with MYTOYS as I am in the 3-4 times over the original budget. I was infected with "while i am at it" disease, and have yet to stop 9 months later.

·
Registered
4,080 Posts
Well, if you haven't done it already...

...super-detail the engine compartment.