Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
506 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Anyone ever used these or know anything about them? Liberty heads

My enigne builder likes them. I searched on line and it seems people in the chevy forums think they are decent for the price.

·
Registered
1,450 Posts
I have no experience with them but according to that page the price is $659 each. You can buy Edelbrock E-Streets cheaper and Twisted Wedge heads for about the same price, and get a more suitable combustion chamber size. I have a friend who owns a machine shop and builds a fair share of race engines and he buys a lot of his parts from Liberty and has nothing but good things to say about what he gets from them.

·
Registered
3,193 Posts
Liberty heads. From a country with little liberty at the same price as American heads. A 64cc combustion chamber is huge for most SFB applications.

Machine shops must get the bare castings dirt cheap and then build them up for racing applications. Lots of good American made preassembled heads available for your average street car.

·
Registered
9,092 Posts
Engine builders love them because of the huge margins. Most heads like this are simply knockoffs of an existing product that was sent to China and reverse engineered. Liberty is simply what we call a "pop up" company, with no R&D or technical knowledge, they just buy from a vendor and call it their own.

IMO, invest in a set of Edelbrock, AFR or other company that has actually invested time and money into developing their products, no a copy cat liek this one.

·
Registered
506 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Good information. Thanks all. My builder said he's had good luck with them and said they are cheaper than most. Those prices didn't seem cheaper than most to me. He said they were a Chinese brand, but for that price I'd rather buy American.

·
Registered
20,177 Posts