Vintage Mustang Forums banner

List of Chassis Stiffening Upgrades/Mods

1481 30
I'm not an expert, I'm just compiling a list of chassis stiffening upgrades I've found from reading online to make it easy on people who search for this topic in the future. (And so people can chime in, for things I missed)

In no particular order:
  • Aftermarket one-piece export brace (also, the reinforcement plate)
  • Aftermarket engine crossmember
    • Referring to the ones that tie into the lower control arm mounts
  • Monte Carlo bar
  • Torque boxes
  • Subframe connectors
  • X-brace (the ones that mount to subframe connectors)
  • Wishbone-shaped reinforcement plate for the shock towers
  • Convertible rockers
  • Honorary mentions (don't think these count as "chassis stiffening")
    • Metal plate between rear seats and gas tank
    • Gas tank reinforcement
    • Master cylinder reinforcement plate
Some of these apply only to certain years (like the torque boxes) and certain models. Hope this is useful, thanks.
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Dimples
7,810 Posts
Looks like a decent list. Based on years of dealing with this stuff, here’s my prioritized list that highlights of what makes the most difference.

1: Export Brace
2: Torque Boxes (for those not already equipped)
3: Z-Ray crossmember

Honorable mention: panel separating the seat back and trunk on coupes. This, apparently can do a lot of work to square up the back of the car.

·
Registered
4,765 Posts
I'm not an expert, I'm just compiling a list of chassis stiffening upgrades I've found from reading online to make it easy on people who search for this topic in the future. (And so people can chime in, for things I missed)

In no particular order:
  • Aftermarket one-piece export brace (also, the reinforcement plate)
  • Aftermarket engine crossmember
    • Referring to the ones that tie into the lower control arm mounts
  • Monte Carlo bar
  • Torque boxes
  • Subframe connectors