Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts
G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
can anyone tell me what is better for a car that is not a trailer queen and sees more than just the 1/4 mile. A locker (like pwertrax) or a posi.

70 fastback modified 351W Edelbrock water pump and rpm intake holly 650 front disc brake conv. Auto to toploader conv. Hurst comp. plus shifter

G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Well, I am no expert. Having said that, Lets start with a "Posi" (which is a Chevy term) or more correctly a "Traction lock or TrakLoc". This is a device that has clutches inside that allow an axle (tire) to rotate at a different speed during a turn, but drives both wheels in a straight line. This is done because the clutches slip. This is great for street use, but in severe situations (getting great traction or doing alot of hard launches) there is unwanted slip, and the loss of traction occurs.

A "locker" uses a mechanical means to lock both axles(wheels) together while in a straight line, so no un-wanted slip will occur. To allow proper turning, the mechanism usually has some sort of ratcheting system. This is why lockers make a clicking noise durring cornering. Also lockers can get "squirly" in the rain, so there is a learning curve to having one. PowerTrax has a new setup that is susposed to be quiet during turns. I have it installed, and I have only gotten to drive with it for around 60 miles before my tranny quit, so I cannot give a good opinion of it yet, but I liked it so far.

So I guess to sum it up, a TrakLoc will give the ultimate streetable drivability, while giving up some traction and tending to wear out the clutches quilcky. A "locker" will give you the best straight-line traction and durability while sacrificing some drivability(which I did not notice in the short time I drove mine).

Hope this helped ( and I hope it was accurate :)

Full Throttle
http://homepages.go.com/~ful_throttle/fullthrottle.gif

·
Banned
3,730 Posts