Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Premium Member
19,191 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
A post below by Camachinist stated that he liked TIG for thin sheet metal better than MIG, although MIG was better at thicker metals (>3/16"). I'm confused...everyone says MIG is the way to go for sheet metal and general car welding, and it is easier. I've found in my welding class that MIG machines will do well with thin sheet metal, but their wire speed and voltage is near the bottom range of the machine, and that they have lots of potential at thick stuff, at least up to 1/2" or more. I thought TIG was for heavier metals than car sheetmetal...Am I learning on the wrong kind of machine???

http://clubs.hemmings.com/baymustang/platesmall.jpgLet me check your shorts! My multimeter is just a-waiting! Formerly known as Midlife in the old VMF.
King of the Old Farts *struts*

·
Registered
1,095 Posts
I'm no expert, but I used a MIG for my floors and frame repair on the coupe with no problems, it worked quite well and I got a model that just plugged into a typical home outlet.

+--------------------+
1969 Mach 1 ( M-Code)
+--------------------+

·
Registered
7,671 Posts
I think that the MIG welder is what is used at 95% of all body shops, a TIG is better suited for alloys, aluminum, and thicker steels....IMHO. I enjoy TIG welding, easier to control the heat and does a beautiful job.

Required tools for operating a Vintage Mustang:
1. Duct Tape
2. J.B. Weld
3. B.F.H. (Big Fat Hammer)
4. VINTAGE MUSTANG FORUMS II

G

·
0 Posts