Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts
G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I thought I was ready to start painting this weekend, until I looked closer at my floor pans. The area under the raised pedestal that the seats attach to has rust. From the previous posts I gather that many choose to cut the pedestal from the floorpans and preserve the area, then re-attach the pedestal.

Question:

I am not a structural engineer, but it seems to me that a circle shaped cut can be made on the top of the pedestal big enough to get a hand and tools in the closed space to do preservation, and still maintain structural integrity. Has anyone done this before?

·
Registered
4,005 Posts
A seam correctly welded will have twice the rigitity strength than a non-welded area of comparison. That is why (in theory) once you weld on one side, it requires twice the amount of heat to weld the opposite side.

·
7,051 Posts
If your plan is to cut it up and leave a hole in it in order to "preserve" the car better...I'd suggest saving yourself the trouble and not cutting it up to begin with...but that's just me.

I'm trying to picture the area you're talking about. Is your car a convertible by any chance? I can't tell what type of '66 you have from your profile. Also are you talking about a little surface rust, or are chunks of your floor pan coming out of the access holes for your seat screws?

Just curious.

Phil

G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #4