Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1977 Ford Mustang
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone, it's nice to be here. I am wondering about engine swaps for a 1977 Mustang. The engine currently in my mustang is the 302 V8, and the transmission is the 3 Speed automatic. I want to swap an engine in that is more powerful, preferably around 250-300 horses. I'm just new to a lot of things, and I just need help. Thank you for any help!

·
Registered
4,987 Posts
The easiest thing to do is find a used 5.0L from a Foxbody Mustang and swap that into your car. You can also install a 351W without to much trouble.

·
Premium Member
12,717 Posts
If the 302 in your MII is the original engine it is pretty weak. In the mid 70's the US was in the midst of a gas crisis and increasing pollution restrictions from the feds. The easiest way for the auto companies to meet the emissions standards was to reduce the compression and retard the cam timing, both which killed performance. You could change your heads to some better heads with more compression like the '65/'66 289 heads and while you have the heads off change the camshaft. Your 302 would easily make 250-300 hp with those modifications.

·
Registered
36,230 Posts
I agree, if the V8 in your car is in good condition, that is, good compression and not burning oil, it should be quite easy to upgrade it to the power range you state as your goal. Merely by changing the cam and intake, and having the distributor properly recurved, you should be able to reach the upper end of your horsepower goal.

Nice to see someone with a MII here. They usually get overlooked. A growing number of replacement parts are out there, and of course they did sell well for Ford.

·
Registered
3,279 Posts