Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
161 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
My life long love of Mustangs, hope you enjoy reading. I graduated HS in 1963 right in the middle of the muscle car era, 409s, 426s, 392 hemi, 327, 421s and on and on. When I saw my first Mustang in late 1964 it was love at first sight. Being in college and not having much money there wasn’t an opportunity to purchase one new or used. After college I joined the USMC and went to Vietnam in ‘68-69, while there many of my friends bought Mustangs at great prices to be delivered upon their return home. Being married I could not afford to do that so I waited, knowing that there would be a time for a Mustang. Upon returning home we needed another vehicle and a friend of mine, Richie Ahl, had a car lot in my home town , Huntington, Long Island, NY. My first Mustang was a ‘65 FB 6 cyl. Auto, dark green, with about 40K on it. I did a bunch of mechanical work on Richie’s vehicles so I got it for a good price. It was a nice car but slow. I was always into speed and kept looking for a HP Mustang. Richie knowing what I wanted kept looking at the auctions for me and one day he scored! A 1968 FB Cobra Jet 428 4 speed with custom interior, dark highland green/ black interior and all the bells and whistles with 20K miles, he got it off a fellow car lot owner who took it on trade, it had a blown rear. I paid 1200 for it in Feb. 1970. First thing I did was rebuild the rear with about 4.10 gears , then put G78-14 on the front and G70s on the rear, I was in hog heaven, I could pass almost everything except a gas station. I kept the car for 3 years and ran it hard and put it up wet many a day. With all that was going on trying to afford a family at that time, and with all the street racing I was doing, it was time for the Mustang to move on, I sold it for $875.00, The ‘65 FB got totaled by being hit in the rear in front of my apartment and was replaced in 1971 with a 1966 red 6 cyl auto