Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
104 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm in need of a new floor jack. I'm thinking a 1.5 ton should be sufficient for occasional use on a '68 small block mustang. I've found the following and was wondering if anyone had any personal experience with either of these, or could recommend something better. I'm in Hawaii, so cost of shipping is a consideration.

At my local NAPA - EVERCRAFT 1.5 T Aluminum - link

At Harbor Freight - PITTSBURGH AUTOMOTIVE 1.5 Ton Aluminum Rapid Pump® Racing Floor Jack - link

Any feedback would be appreciated.

Harry Z

·
Registered
749 Posts
That HF one doesn't go up high enough. I have it. I went back and got this one. Much better and lifts the car up high enough to put my RaceRamp Cribs under the wheels.

·
Registered
330 Posts
Ditto with the HF I’ve been using it for 7 years works great but I’d put in the extra $30 and get the 3 ton it’s way easier to “pump” up and it goes up pretty heigh!

·
Registered
3,113 Posts
I have the HF 2.5 ton aluminum floor jack. I really like it and have no problems with it, and I use it all the time. Most every jack you buy today is going to be made in China.

·
Registered
4,819 Posts
Ive always wonder if y'alls Asian import stuff passes you on the way to California to just turn and go back to Hawaii.

I have the $79 HF and the $129 3 ton Datoyna from HF, of course don't ever pay that though. Everyday e-coupon price is $59 and $99, once in a while even better:) They are both decent simple things. Do as they say and bleed and check the fluid before use for long life.
The small one is just that, lighter, all aluminium and shorter pump lever. it lifts plenty high to get onto stands for most people to get underneath, maybe not to change a trans but still. Its light and short enough i can one hand it over crap that might be in the way on the floor.