Vintage Mustang Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
387 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im looking for a expert news, magazine article on whats involved in restoring a classic car, Whats involved ,total hours it takes , any help would be much appreciated

·
Registered
176 Posts
Do you need it for a paper your writing? If not,you will get much more expert knowledge asking right here.I do it for a living,ask away.Complete resto involves every part,nut and bolt of the car. Hours depends on the condition and type of car. I will put anywhere from 900 to 2500 hours in a car.

·
Registered
4,964 Posts
Your desired info is way too broad to be answered in an article, or even series of them. Restoring a car to drive is a different animal than restoring for Pebble Beach. Restoring a Mustang is a different animal than a Packard.

Given you are posting on a Mustang site I assume you are looking to do a Mustang. If you tell us more about your intended build perhaps we can point you to some references.

·
Registered
1,383 Posts
knew someone who restored vettes for a living. He used to estimate 2000 hours for a nut and bolt, top flight restoration to a typical as new condition. I've sure some were fewer hours and some were more. Basically a full time job for a year. Wouldn't expect a Mustang to be significantly more or less.

·
Registered
37,723 Posts