Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
489 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Thanks for the previous tips to check the firing order but it's wired correctly. Here's is my follow up thought and question:

I'm still learning about all this... but would I need to adjust the timing because of the bigger cap?

I may not be thinking clearly right now because of sun exposure and frustration but since the cap diameter is larger than what was originally there, therefore the terminals are slighly more spaced apart and the new rotor is slighly longer.... which would mean that all else being the same, the rotor is travelling at the same speed and the timing is set to fire at that rate for the shorter rotor, but tip of the rotor is now travelling a longer distance around the circumference and therefore take longer, right?

So.. because of all that, wouldn't I have to reset the timing to correct for the misfires? Man, I hope I made myself understandable. An analogy would be like changing the size of the tires and the effect the tire size would have on the speedometer. The smaller tire would make the speedometer read faster than what the actual speed was and a larger tire would make the speedometer read slower than the actual speed. Wouldn't this also hold true for the distributor cap or am I not K.I.S.S-ing this and over thinking the whole thing?

I have a headache.....

·
Registered
455 Posts
You are over thinking the cap thing.Large or small cap makes no difference.The spacing of the terminals is the same...45 deg's(assuming it's an 8 cyl).The rotor makes the trip around the cap(360 deg's)in the same amount of time.
Checking the timming is a good idea any time a cap,rotor or points are changed.Did you check the inside of the cap for carbon tracks?(A pencel line can really F**K with a mechanic...been on both ends of that gag).Also check the rotor for a hole through to the shaft.
What kind of miss is it?Dead miss,intermitant,only unde a load?

·
Registered