Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1,103 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Finally (but momentarily!) sorted my lack of turn signals in my '68. It WAS the flasher. I had been given a 'universal' flasher by another classic owner. I put it in, and both left and right signals worked, although the flashing was VERY fast and seemed weak (didnt seem to illuminate much as it has previous)

A while later i fired up the car - no turn signals! /forums/images/icons/shocked.gif

This is what it says on the flasher

------------------
9FL 12V
12A MAX
Flasher

-------------

I'm no electrical expert, but could the flasher have been completely wrong for the car - thus working only once in an odd pattern?

Thanks,

Gary

·
Premium Member
2,294 Posts
The only time I have heard of different flasher speed, and weakness was when one or more turn signals were burnt out. I suppose it if was the wrong flasher, it could cause the same effect. I say try locating 1, or 2 (one for a spare) flashers that is correct for your car. They have them here in the states for 2.99 a peice. Im not sure about your country though. Hope that helps.

·
Registered
3,628 Posts
sounds like either it was not right flasher or your +12V may be to high (VR) as evident of fast flashing - the fast flashing turns bulb on/off so fast it does not have time to emit light relevant to time and contrast lost. check your +12 V (should be 13 +/- 0.5 Vs. if ok go to NAPA and get proper flasher - only $2 or so.

·
Registered
1,103 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
It was the ONLY two pin flasher i could locate - and it was 14 years old too (but never even opened!)

Plus, this one was square - but the previous 2 in the car were round (came with a pre-burned out one in the glove box)

I might have to import a few of them

One question though - would it be possible to just run a wire from one pin into the other? I mean (im guessing here) that it would cause the turn signal to be permanantly lit?