Vintage Mustang Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!
  • May's Ride of the Month contest ended with a tie! Go to this thread to vote on the winner! VOTE HERE

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
1968 Ford Mustang Coupe
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I'm just getting into this. Been looking at old mustangs for a while and finally pulled the trigger. Drove it from where I bought it (about 30 min drive). Got it to my driveway then couldn't get it to start again. Noticed a cap missing, must have popped off on the ride home.

From research it looks like its the oil filler cap and the hose that goes in is the crankcase vent hose.

Anyone that could confirm that and point me in the right direction for parts and repair I would greatly appreciate!

Thanks!

David

·
Registered
1973 Ford Mustang Grande 351C
65 Posts
I remember some older fords had a 1/4 turn screw-in oil cap type with a center grommet that the PVC valve fit into. I believe it was on a 360 Ford truck. Looked like thi:

84CD669F-B556-4B99-AD77-FE65EBAA676C.jpeg

·
Registered
65 Posts
But without the elbow; PVC valve went where the elbow is (I realize this is the filtered air inlet for the crankcase ventilation; I just couldn’t locate the part I remembered).

·
Registered
65 Posts
Found the item:
745364DB-2F38-4A04-B61C-0E1D8E23B420.jpeg

It’s available from lots of folks, plus there was a thread here called “No pcv valve??” where the lack of a PCs valve in covered in detail. :cool:

·
Registered
1,124 Posts
You should not drive without a cap. Dirt can get into your engine. If you lost the cap and the hose going to the carb you will have a vacuum leak. Check the base plate under the carb and the carb if you find an open port for the PCV valve. With a vacuum leak your engine will run rough or not at all, depending on the tuning.