Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone, thanks for having me. A buddy of me recently gave me a 64-1/2 mustang that's in need of a restoration because he didn't have the time; so I'm new to all that is Mustang and come from a motorcycle background.

Anyway, so my question/problem is as follows: For the 64-1/2, I thought it would be neat to learn the original color/interior combination and upon working with a FoMoCo decoder, I found my car to be a Indy Pace Car Replica, built April 14, 1964, with a "Pace Car White" exterior, 260 motor; unfortunately, the car is blue now.

After some more internet search I learned this could be quite a little gem, but I grew nervous that perhaps only the drivers door is from an actual pace car, as the only identification I can find is attached to the door.

So my question is, what other visual clues can I use to determine the legitimacy of this vehicle? Keep in mind, it's blue now, and has a white vinyl top and has probably been through a zillion owners and a commensurate number of restorations.

Thanks everyone, I appreciate the input and whether or not this is the real deal, you'll probably see me around as I begin some form of restoration.

Thanks again,
Carl

·
Registered
1,312 Posts
Carl,