Vintage Mustang Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!
  • May's Ride of the Month contest ended with a tie! Go to this thread to vote on the winner! VOTE HERE
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys.Im new to the classic cars scene and just have a few questions.Im just wondering what to really look for when searching.Im gonna be looking at a 1967 Mustang 289 Automatic this weekend.It was restored in 2005.Im just wondering what i should look for exactly.Im not new to cars...just classic cars.I have been reading alot of ebay ad's and i see alot of people saying(matching numbers and codes ,A-Code for example.Im not sure what these mean...but im sure they are important.Any help would be great.Thanks again

G

·
Find somebody that knows classic mustangs and take them with you. Check for excessive bondo, rust at quarter panels, cowl, frame rails front and rear, front corners of doors, bottom of front fenders etc. Crawl underneath and look for obvious repairs and excessive undercoating. Does the car sit level? What mods have been done that cant be reversed? As you can see there are tons of things to look for especially when somebody tells you it was restored a couple years ago. Everybody has a different idea of a restoration....o ya and fill out your profile. Welcome!!!!

·
Registered
Current cars include 1969 Mach 1 and 1970 Cougar XR7 convertible
8,682 Posts
First, welcome to VMF.

Second, there a lot of things to sift through and look for in a vintage Mustang inspection...maybe more than you can glean from the "search" feature of this site between now and this weekend!! Beyond the usual things a prudent buyer would do on any used vehicle purchase, you need to look for evidnce of rust, past and present, as these old rigs were not rustproofed from the factory in any meaningful way.