Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
643 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
So I painstaking installed my new turn signal switch. I think I bought it from CJ or MU, would have to look up the receipt to find out.

Anyway, I rebuilt the column about a year ago and just got around to installing it.

I fixed all my wiring problems (cleaned grounds, used a test-bulb and my multi meter, cleaned the sockets and replaced the bulbs, extensive troubleshooting) and I've come to the conclusion the switch is bad. (I'm a Aerospace/EE by trade).

Problem is, when I set the switch to turn left, the Right brake light goes out. I can get it to come back on by wiggling the stalk. So I took apart the column and bent the wiper for the right brake light contact. It worked better, but it only lasted about 20 minutes after putting the column back together. I tried cleaning it with contact cleaner but I can't fully disassemble the switch.

Verified all signals work and I can make the light work by pressing on the wiper tab inside the switch. The crappy plastic switch body just deflects too much. I might try drilling out the rivet and tapping the stalk stud for a tighter fit.

If I can't find a good solution, I'm going to build a little relay box to stick under the dash and just trigger off the Left/Right blinker signal (which appears to work pretty good). In fact I'll probably work something up this afternoon.

So, is there a "good" turn signal switch? I have a 67 stock column non-tilt. I searched the forums and people refer to the re-pops as junk, but what other option do I have. (Old switch was attacked by the PO and destroyed).

·
Registered
191 Posts