Vintage Mustang Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!
  • May's Ride of the Month contest ended with a tie! Go to this thread to vote on the winner! VOTE HERE
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 67 fastback GT S-code that I've had for about a year. It came with American Racing Vectors with 14x7 w/245/60R14 (4.0"backspacing) and 16x10.5 w/265/50R15 (3.75"backspacing). These wheels stick out in the rear a bit but there is no rubbing anywhere.

I have done as much homework as I can as far as fitment for new wheels and tires, but the amount of $ for new ones is tough to swallow without the expert opinions of you guys. I am a Newbie and am so grateful to have this community's combined experience.

I am looking to buy Coys C-5's in 17x8 (4.5"BS) and 18x9.5 (5"BS). BF Goodrich tires in 245/45R17 and 275/40R18. I know that my rearend is not stock because axle width and brakes all seem to be different. I have measured everything and have all existing spacing compared to the what the new spacing will be.

My question is, WILL THESE NEW WHEELS WORK AND BE ACCEPTABLE?

*MEASUREMENTS*
-front tire measurements should be fine as my stock front suspension and wheel and tire choice fits Dodgestang's Chart's recommendations (thanks so much Dodgestang).

-new tire diameter will be just over an inch larger but this should be ok.
-clearance on the inside of the tire to wheel well and to the leaf springs will be reduced from 2" to 0.75". IS THIS OK?
-Wheel will stick out 1.75" inches less than existing ones so SHOULD JUST CLEAR FENDER?

I know this is lengthy, but I am out of the country and have no one else to ask but you guys?
Any help would be appreciated.

·
Premium Member
2,632 Posts
paulstu said:
-clearance on the inside of the tire to wheel well and to the leaf springs will be reduced from 2" to 0.75". IS THIS OK?
I can comment on the clearance to the leaf spring.