Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1,152 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone, just a quick question. I need a new windshield for my 65 convertible. Checked with local glass shop ( highly recommended for quality work) and they quoted me $400 for a Carlite windshield installed. It only comes with the tint strip at the top. $235 if I want to try the install myself.
Anyone recommend doing this install myself?
I do need to provide my own rubber weather strip either way.

·
Registered
1,376 Posts
Pay the money and have it fitted!!
I sell the stuff for a living and and we love guys coming buying a screen "Its OK mate I'll fit it myself" then asking for instructions on what to do .
Their back the next day to buy another screen , because they broke it .and have it fitted or the thing leaks .
Its easy if you know what you're doing. Do you?
Don't risk it !!!!!!!! IT'S MADE OF GLASS ,IT BREAKS

If in doubt give it a clout
If at first you don't succeed , find a bigger hammer
http://albums.photopoint.com/j/View?u=1584152&a=12055089&p=43600042&Sequence=15&res=high.jpg

G

·
0 Posts
It is a lot cheaper to do it yourself if you know how to! I found my 65 front windshield on the classifieds here just for $65! and it worked just fine for when i installed it!

·
Registered
1,376 Posts
BTW $165 sounds a bit expensive to fit it .
Work them over on that price.
I think you're getting touched.
If it's anything like it is here , shop them and you'll do better !!

If in doubt give it a clout
If at first you don't succeed , find a bigger hammer
http://albums.photopoint.com/j/View?u=1584152&a=12055089&p=43600042&Sequence=15&res=high.jpg

·
Registered
673 Posts