Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 65 coupe that has after-factory a/c installed. I don't know if it works. The compressor doesn't even have a belt on it. I was thinking of just yanking the thing out because the compressor just clutters up the engine compartment and the A/C itself inside isn't useful without the compressor. The question I have is, there is a hose connected from the compressor to the radiator. If I remove the compressor, what do I plug the hole in the radiator with? As you may tell by my lingo.. Im somewhat new to mustangs and repairing cars in general, so please, if you know, help me out.

Thanks

Josh

·
Registered
4,082 Posts
Dont' take it apart, get a belt & see what happens. The hoses runs to the evaporator (I think that's the right name) not the radiator. The evaporator sits in front of the radiator.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Ok.... I will try running it and see what happens. Guess I need to find a belt now. Any suggestions on where? If it is non-functional. Do you have any thoughts on how to plug the "evaporator"?

Thanks for the quick response, by the way.

·
Registered
2,204 Posts
The A/c is a closed system. The hose runs to the compressor. If it is functioning and full of R-12 you should not just let all that stuff out into the atmosphere (have a pro purge the system for you).
However, if you pull the compressor, you will not have to plug any of the holes or worry about anything leaking (but the inital freon purge).
If this is a race car and you don't ever see the need for a/c take it out (but I'd recommend saving it, once you get old like me, you may want to put it back in)
I too would recommend seeing what if anything is wrong with it and if it only needs a belt and a charge get it working.

·
Registered
3,595 Posts