Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, I went out to start the car (‘66 coup - 289) and it started up and then died. I then noticed that the interior lights, headlights, radio, etc... weren’t working either. I had recently had transmission rebuilt and everything was working fine. I wanted to make sure there was power coming from the battery so I jumped the solenoid and the motor cranked but no ignition. I checked the body ground and just to be safe ran another ground from battery to the body. Still no power. :(
I’m not good at electrical issues so any ideas would be helpful.
Tim

·
Premium Member
3,365 Posts
Bad ignition switch or solenoid switch.

·
Registered
1966 Mustang GT Fastback 289 4BBL
51 Posts
Check that you are getting power to your main harness plug that goes in by the master cylinder. That would maybe tell you if its in the engine compartment or under the dash. The wire you want to make sure has 12v is the 2nd or 3rd? from the bottom passenger side of the plug. Its a black/yellow wire

·
Registered
35,117 Posts
Remove and thoroughly clean the battery terminal ends and posts until both are shiny silver. Remove and clean the positive connections at the solenoid (a stiff brass brush or even sandpaper will work) as well as the negative (ground) cable where it bolts to the engine.

·
Registered
951 Posts
Check that you are getting power to your main harness plug that goes in by the master cylinder. That would maybe tell you if its in the engine compartment or under the dash. The wire you want to make sure has 12v is the 2nd or 3rd? from the bottom passenger side of the plug. Its a black/yellow wire
^^^ this.
You can clean the female part of the plug with a bit of wiring with the end stripped of insulation in the chuck of a drill.

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Thank you all for your suggestions. I will try each and check back with any new developments.

·
Registered
746 Posts