Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
5,205 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK, I'm confused now. What's the BEST time to check oil level? When I first started driving, I was told to check the oil every time you fill up your gas tank right at the gas station. I've been doing this for 3 years... Now my dad (not the same person who told me the other info) is telling me NOT to check the oil when the car is really hot because there is still oil in the filter that won't register on the dipstick or something...

So I pose the question to the venerable VMFers... Just when IS the best (or most accurate, I should say) time to check your car's oil level?

·
Registered
2,750 Posts
You don't need an accurate measurement as there is an operating range for the oil level that proves satisfactory. If you check the oil with cold engine, all oil should have drained down and so the oil should read as high as it will ever read without adding more oil. This oil level should always be maintained at the full mark even if you have to add small amounts to get it there. I usually have a quart bottle handy in the garage to keep the oil level serviced.