Vintage Mustang Forums banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, new member (Lou)

I’ve been working on my wife’s 65 coupe for 3 years. About 95% complete. I’d like to get a little more hp out of the rebuilt stock 289. Already has edelbrock performer intake and 500 cfm carb and magma flow exhaust. Suggestions greatly appreciated.

·
Hi, how ya doin
2,633 Posts
Welcome, & x2 on some pics. When it was rebuilt did you use a stock cam?.

Reactions: [email protected]

·
7,231 Posts
Your biggest semi-easy mod will be to swap the cylinder heads. After that....cam.

You'll need to do a little research with the heads though. The stock heads have 54 cc combustion chambers, so you'll want to stay close to this to NOT kill your compression ratio. Also, some stock pistons will hit the larger valves in aftermarket heads because they don't have valve reliefs.

One fix to both issues is to replace the pistons at the same time with something like a KB116. I had AFR 58 cc heads (AFR165) on my 289 and it ran great with them and a mild performance cam. Those heads and pistons work out to right at 10:1 CR on a stock bore 289 IIRC.

·
Registered
67 Fastback T5 331 TCI Frt End, Canted 4 link rear susp
1,475 Posts
Hi Lou, welcome. An "easy" way to get more "fun" from your Mustang is changing the rear end gear ratio. While it doesn't add more power, it can give your car more "zip" which can have the same effect. Tell us more about the car as far as current gear ratio, engine / trans, and what type of driving (around town versus highway) that you do.

·
Registered
1970 Sportroof Mustang Grabber Value Package
630 Posts
Welcome and ditto on the pics

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
Thanks for the reply’s