Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
G'day

I've got to replace my coil and was thinking I should upgrade from the pertronix ignitor I to the ignitor III and Flame thrower III coil. The car is in good shape and had its last tune up about 2 months ago. Its always been a little slugish at startup but nothing serious.

Now my questions is I'm by no means a mechanic so I leave that to the pro's but I do like to do as much as possible on my own. I've heard conflicting reports on whether or not it will need a tuneup if I do the swap to the ignitor III given its currently in good tune?

Just don't wont to do the swap and have problems getting it to the mechanic to deal with the timeing etc as its a fair drive.

Cheers

Ben

·
Registered
562 Posts
I would leave the Ignitor alone. There's nothing wrong with those. I have run one in my vintage race car for the past 15 years. If you have tuning or starting issues, address those with a good tuneup. If you describe the problems in detail I am sure you can get some input here to guide your attentions.

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I wouldn't say its a problem I'm just really fussy. Opose to some cars which you only need to look at the key and it springs into life. Mine needs about 1/4 gas peddle and about 2 seconds on the key. The ignitor III is just an idea seeing I need to replace my coil, I figure might as will upgrade for the extra $120.

·
Registered
1,096 Posts
If you want to upgrade, I would go to the II unless you have need of a rev limiter. That's the only real difference between the II and the III, as both feature the adaptive dwell. I think the coils are over-hyped - either you have good spark or you don't. The air/fuel mixture burns at the same rate whether you light it off with a 30,000 volt spark or a million volt spark.

All that being said, 1-18-68 has a good point.