Vintage Mustang Forums banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to vintage-mustangs. I've lurked for a while and received much great advice. But I'm in the finishing stages of a '65 V8 restoration and have a few questions. I'll post each separately. My first is in regards to Pertronix wiring. My mechanic installed a Pertronix Ignitor II and Flamethrower II coil in my. Although the engine seems to run fine, the wiring differs slightly from the normal recommended setup. I just want to make sure that it is correct, provides the expected benefits, and will do no unexpected damage. The Ignitor red wire runs to the + side of the coil. The Ignitor black runds to the - side. A separate 12V power supply is spliced into the green/red wire on the back of the ignition switch and runs through the firewall to the + side of the coil. The green/red ignition wire (which traces to the underdash pink resistor wire then becomes green/red in the engine compartment) is unhooked. Connecting BOTH the red Ignitor wire and the 12V power to the + side is what has me concerned. Additionally, does leaving the green/red unhooked have consequences? I think it may be contributing to the the alt light not functioning but I may also have a voltage regulator wiring problem that is effecting the light (the "I" slot is empty"). I'll post the question separately. Thanks in advance for any guidance.

·
Registered
384 Posts
Sounds like your mechanic has hooked it up properly.
I'd leave it as it is. Don't know about the light problem
tho. I'm sure others will chime in on this.

·
Registered
223 Posts