Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I had a 1965 Coupe in high school, 200ci C4, hard to believe that's been 30 years ago.

So I've been looking for another ride with a 200 mainly because that's what I had, but also because they are generally a bit less expensive, Another good reason is that I make my living with my driver's license driving nearly 3000 miles a week for FedEx Freight. I don't really need the temptation of the extra hp!

Have been looking for probably 18 months, checking out CL ads, Facebook, etc when one day I take a different way back home while riding my bike. There is a white '66 coupe sitting in the driveway and the owner putting a car cover on.

So I stopped and talked with him, explained that I used to have a 65 coupe with the I-6 and was trying to find another. He said he was thinking about selling his'66 but hadn't listed it anywhere yet.

It's been 4 weeks now and we've come to agreement and I'll be getting it in about 10 days after he gets back from a vacation in Italy.

The crazy thing is we've lived about 0.4 miles from each other for 15 years, just about 3 blocks.

Looking forward to driving this '66 200ci with a 3spd manual this time!

Have a great one!

Attachments

·
Administrator
19,313 Posts
Welcome to the forum. Couple of suggestions, if I may. I'm not the expert on '66 cars but it appears you still have the original single line brake master cylinder. It's kind of a really big safety thing for folks to upgrade that to a dual bowl master cylinder. For safety reasons.
Another thought is upgrading to a T5 transmission. Since you have a straight drive already, you're halfway there. Seriously consider it. You about have to drive one to understand, but it makes a 200 coupe positively feel like a sportscar and actually more fun to drive in comparison to a 3 speed or C4. Plus you get overdrive.
But if you're a "keep it original" kind of guy, that's great too.

·
Registered