Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
121 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I pulled a matching numbers '67 firebird out of a barn the other week. Its a 6 cyl and I'm going to keep as much of the car in tact as possible. I have a 70's era pontiac 350 that I'd like to put in during the meantime while the 6 is getting rebuilt.

I'm new to pontiacs and their motor/trans combinations. If I wanted to keep the original two speed power glide in the car will that work with the 350? What route do I take with the flywheel/torque converter?

Can I also just buy '68 motor mounts since the 350 came out in '68?

If anyone knows Pontiacs like that, please reach out. Thanks!

·
Registered
1,989 Posts
Congratulations. I love Pontiac's Camaro. My Buddy has a '68 Firebird with a 400 that I helped him rebuild. We've helped each other with a lot of projects over the years. What I do know is he never had much good to say about Pontiac's 350. Not necessarily bad, but I suppose was lost in the shadow of the ultimate hot rodding example that Chevy introduced back when which bore the same cu. in. # but could readily produce substantially more power.

What I do know, by the seat of my pants, is that 400 we built ripped - talk about torque! Just sayin, may be worth it now to get a 400 if you're planning to invest and hold onto the car - will also make it much more fun and desirable when time comes to sell.

Also, not that there won't be people here who appreciate Pontiacs, you will likely gather up much more from the Pontiac Gurus on a 1st gen Firebird site - I suppose that's obvious though and can be more interesting and even riskay to talk about Pontiacs on a Mustang forum. I've noticed that even the diehard Ford guys will let down their guard for a Pontiac now and then, despite being a Camaro in bird's "clothing."

·
Registered
20,869 Posts