Vintage Mustang Forums banner
1 - 20 of 135 Posts

·
VMF Ambassador
7,198 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
People have been clamoring to hear about my Powerjection III install, so I figured I'd go ahead and start a thread on it. Today's post will relate entirely to preparations I'm making for the transition to EFI, since I haven't actually received the system yet :)

First off, I'm going with the PIII system for three reasons:
1) The simplicity. I'm a novice mechanic at best, and I know when I've bitten off more than I can chew (constantly :lol:). This project will kick my ***, but I'm trying to keep the ***-kicking to a minimum.
2) The looks. I dig the look of a 4-barrel carb, plain and simple. I don't like the teeny tiny little square bore throttle bodies (like the Holley Avenger, Fast EZefi, etc.), and I want to keep a more vintage look.
3) Function. I want cold starting, no vapor lock, and no excessive tinkering on my daily driver. I wouldn't mind babying her, but if I need to be at work in 15 minutes and the carb has decided it's not going to cooperate, that's not cool. The PIII system will add reliability, but not too much complexity - in effect, it's sort of a 'smart carb'.

So, on to what I've done so far... nothing :lol: I have, however, made a large list of things that need to be done. I intend to do this install in steps, so Jane is driveable for most of the install - if I've learned anything during my past year with her, it's that not being able to drive kills my motivation. I really slow down about 1/4 of the way into a project because everything seems to pile up, but being able to hop in and drive makes everything better and reminds me why I'm putting up with all of this :lol: As such, this is how I'm doing my install:
1) Make a mount for the electric pump near the gas tank, and install said electric pump (Mallory 4060FI)