Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
618 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to body work and painting. I have some parts that I have stripped and repaired, now its time to prime and paint. I will not be doing either of these, because of the lack of equiptment and experience. I got a friend who will prime the parts for me. He works at a body shop and will prime the parts with the left over primer. So when he primes something and theres extra he can just spray my part or parts depending on how much primer is left in the gun.

Heres my question: They are down to bare metal. Do they need to be sprayed with etching primer? If so could I use a good aerosol etching primer and still get a nice result? The parts will get primed with a good primer as soon as I drop them off. So they won't sit very long with just the etching primer on them. Any help or suggestions will greatly be appreciated.

Thankyou, Jason

·
Premium Member
3,637 Posts
No rattle can stuff.

If the parts aren't going to sit around for long, hey can wait to be primed, especially if they’re kept in a dry environment. If you wan to protect them, you can treat the parts with something like Picklex, or PPG metal prep (can be wipped on with a rag).

Do you plan to store the primed parts for any length of time after your buddy sprays them? If so, ask you buddy what kind of primer he's planning to shoot with. If it's epoxy you're ok, the parts can be stored indefinitely. But if he's planning to shoot with high-build or some other sandable primer it’ll be too porous, the parts will be susceptible to moisture.

BTW, www.autobody.com is a great place to ask questions

·
Registered
256 Posts