Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1,657 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have 2 questions. First one is what is the difference between a quarter panel skin and a normal quarter panel(I'm a newbie)? What one is easier to put on?

2nd question- What is the best way to repair an area of rust right above the rear wheel on the fender flair. Do I have to replace the whole quarter panel or is there some other way to fix this ::

Thanks, Zach

·
Registered
1,115 Posts
Seeing how you have a coupe both a skin and full quarter area available.

A skin is exactly that. You cut out only the rotten portion and then skin the new panel completely over top of the old panel. The old panel remains in place as it is of heavier gauge (thickness) and aids the structural integrity of the unibody.

There are partial panel replacements to repair the area you are speaking of....or you could buy a structural quarter and cut out of it the area you want to repair.

A quarter panel replacement you completly cut of the 1/4 to a point where you want the new quarter to seam to the old body. You remove all the spot welds and weld the new quarter to the original mounting points at the door jamb, trunk jamb, wheel well opening and 1/4 panel body line.

If it was my car I'd be replacing the complete quarter but be prepared for the possible need of additional work once you cut it off. To me a complete replacement is never easy but in my novice opinion is the most thorough repair.

·
Registered
1,592 Posts
I would (actually did) go for the full panel.
1. Much easier IMHO to install the full QP instead of welding in the skin.
2. Once you open it up, you are bound to find more than you originally anticipated.

·
Registered
1,657 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Alright. How long and how hard is it to replace a quarter panel. Im not an experienced welder, so could a body shop repalce the panel for me?

·
Registered
1,592 Posts
Im not an experienced welder,