Vintage Mustang Forums banner
1 - 20 of 57 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Is it possible that the Data Plate could specify a 289 4-V and actually be produced with a 2-V. The casting code is C4AF-9425 C, above that is 289 over 4. Haven't cleaned the petrified "stuff" to find all code, esp date code. It is a true 64.5 build date June 6, data plate vin matches apron. Engine casting C40E-6015 C, Date 4C4. It has dealer installed headrests and AC. Hood, master cylinder, horns, generator, horn relay,
what's left of wiring correct, headlight buckets all correct.

·
Registered
22,195 Posts
Anything is possible. They made mistakes with the VIN. So maybe was a 2V and put the wrong engine code on the data plate. Or it could be a result of almost 60 years on the road. Back in the 70’s during some of the gas shortages people would swap their 4V for a 2V. It happened. Could also be the original engine took a dump and a complete 289 2V installed. I’m not a expert on the D code but what I understand is it’s basically a 2V 289 with a 4V intake. Same low compression as the 2V motor. So who knows?

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Anything is possible. They made mistakes with the VIN. So maybe was a 2V and put the wrong engine code on the data plate. Or it could be a result of almost 60 years on the road. Back in the 70’s during some of the gas shortages people would swap their 4V for a 2V. It happened. Could also be the original engine took a dump and a complete 289 2V installed. I’m not a expert on the D code but what I understand is it’s basically a 2V 289 with a 4V intake. Same low compression as the 2V motor. So who knows?