Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
1,108 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was thinking of trying my hand at some minor body work. The bottom drivers side of my valance has a small dent in it from when I unloaded the car off the trailer last year. The paint is chipped and there is a very small inward dimple in it. I have a beginners set of body hammers and dollys.

I was planning on masking the area off, sanding it down, and hammering out the dent. Than I assume filler, more sanding, primer and paint.

Its an area that won't be seen so i thinking its a good place to start.

Any hints, recommendations, advice?

·
Registered
35,982 Posts
Without drilling a hole to access the back of the dent you'll have some issues. I'm no expert at "paintless" dent repair but, although the paint IS damaged, the technique to "work" that small dent is the same and maybe an expert could access it through a hole drilled under the sill plate so it'd be covered up later. That method would probably eliminate the need for any filler with just sanding, priming, sealing and painting to facilitate the repair.

·
Registered
1,108 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
@Woodchuck ,

I removed the front valance, bumper, and grill. My cherry picker doesn't quite reach all the way in so it's easier to pull and install the engine without the front clip on.

My feeling was, while it's out and since I'll have to wait a few weeks for my engine........

·
Registered
2,412 Posts
With it off the car it’s a good first time hammer and dolly gig. When final coating the spot repair study up on using a blending solvent. That way the paint blends better and the new color less noticeable or in many cases not at all. Better yet skim, prime and paint the entire part and you won’t need a blender. That will give you the most practice for basic paint and body.

·
Registered
3,726 Posts
Nothing like trying to fix a problem on your on.