Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts
G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I stopped at a gas station this morning and while turning off the ignition I noticed that I was not able to turn the key properly. I jiggled it a little bit and I was finally able to get it to turn off.

When I went to start the car the key turned but nothing happened. The key was moving much too freely. It felt like it was not engaging. I am a novice to be kind. I am assuming that something broke in the ignition area. Does that sound right? And if so what do I need to look for. Will I have to remove the dash to access this?

My car is a 65 coupe.

Thanks for any assistance.

·
Registered
10,287 Posts
Your lock cylinder is just worn out from all these years of use.

You can buy replacements from the Mustang parts dealer and then have a local locksmith rekey it to your existing key. That way you can use the same key for your doors and ignition.

·
Registered
938 Posts
Yes it is probably just the cylinder..what the key goes into to.
Get the part from NPD then post again with how to replace. Roughly you will need a needle to slide it into a small hole on the clyindder and rotate key and cylinder will come out.
Not a bad idea to take both up to locksmith and get new one keyed to old key so door lock will still work.

·
Gone but never forgetten
25,239 Posts
If the key is spinning freely with no resistance, you most likely have a broken ignition switch. The same thing happened to my son's '65 2 weeks ago. The ignition switch was in 2 pieces (the switch was less than a year old, too).

Reach up under the dash as see if you can see/feel the rubber plug that's suppossed to be attached to the back of the ignition swtich. You'll likely find it dangling with half the ignition switch like we did.

You don't have to remove the gauge cluster to replace the switch, but it's much, much easier if you do.

·
Registered
2,750 Posts