Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
151 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
When I bought my 70 mustang (3 weeks ago) I knew that id have to disassemble the entire car. As of now every bolted on part is off, the car is completely gutted. I even removed the entire cowl panel area(lower, mid and upper) Bc it was rusted almost in half. I also removed the seat panels (i dont know what there called but they are spot welded on).

My goal right now is to be able to get to all areas of the car so when i go to media blast i can remove all the rust. The problem is there are areas where I know rust exists (even some rust holes) but are behind things like the roof supports and in between the firewall and thick plate that runs up the frame rails.

So my questions is can I/should I remove the roof supports and any other areas that rust is in order to media blast?

I tried to explain to the best of my ability but keep in mind i am very new to this. If i can clarify more please let me know

thank you
Jake

Attachments

·
Registered
5,627 Posts
If you're hauling this anywhere to be blasted, you'll want the supports in place as designed. Otherwise you run the risk of twisting or bending. Blast it as is, see what's left when it returns. At that point you can base your decisions on how bad the rust is. Perforations- cut and replace, surface rust- treat, seal, and call it good.

·
Premium Member
586 Posts
I am in the process of disassembling my rust bucket right now. I am taking my time and labeling everything...which is also giving me time to develop a plan of attack. I am actually considering chemical dipping mine. It’s not cheap, but seems to be the best way thoroughly address the unseen rust.

·
Registered
151 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks, I’m blasting it myself. I know it’s a slow process when you want to keep strait panels but it’s more economical for me.