Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I need to replace the rear axle seals on my '66 8" rear. I have never done this before. What should I buy (besides the seals themselves) in order to have all the stuff to do this job in a single day, if possible. I don't want to have the car sitting on jack stands for a week.

Should I do the rear axle bearings? I have been told that I should as long as its apart. They don't make any noise, but they are 36 years old.

Any suggestions, or insights would be appreciated

·
Registered
6,911 Posts
the seals come out with a 3 jaw puller and can be tapped in with a mallet.....

many auto parts places rent/loan the puller.......not much else to replacing them

the bearings are around 25-35 bucks....they have to be pressed off the axle

·
Registered
1,670 Posts
Make sure to compare your new seals to the old ones, I got the wrong size twice last time. I would follow the shop manual procedures which are pretty straight forward. I also bought a seal driver set from Harbor Freight for $10 that made installing the seals easy. Use some sealer (cant' remember the name) on the outer edges of the seal as the shop manual recommends. I smeared RTV on the end of the axle tube and cleaned off the excess before installing the axle and retaining plate. My 3 jawed pullers wouldn't fit inside the seal so I tapped up a pair of channel locks with electical tape and pulled the seal out with that.

I had a machine shop press my old bearings off and the new ones on for about $35.

Good luck

·
Registered
727 Posts