Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello All, newbie here. I have a 66 mustang coupe with an 8" rear end, has a 302 with mild cam and holley 600 cfm double pumper and 4 speed top loader, I am wanting some more power and quickness. I am not sure what gears are in it now but she is definately not quick. She is not a daily driver and I seldomly take it on the highway. Any suggestions for a good set of gears?

·
Registered
123 Posts
I daily drove my ‘66 for many years on a mini spooled rear with 4.10’s. Great around town but the highway was ok but you won’t be cruising in the fast lane. I’ve got stock gears in there now but getting ready to do 3.55’s

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the reply, everything I am reading about is saying the same thing 3.55's

·
Registered
3,228 Posts
I run a 3.80 gear and think it’s a happy medium for all scenarios. I run about 3000 @ 70 MPH.

·
Premium Member
10,036 Posts
What carb would you recommend?
A vacuum secondary carb in the 500-600 CFM range with annular boosters. There are several Holley, Edelbrock and Summit carbs in this category and each has it's fans and it's detractors. The smaller the CFM the quicker the carb responds to throttle changes due to the velocity of the air flow through the carb.

·
Registered
123 Posts
A vacuum secondary carb in the 500-600 CFM range with annular boosters. There are several Holley, Edelbrock and Summit carbs in this category and each has it's fans and it's detractors. The smaller the CFM the quicker the carb responds to throttle changes due to the velocity of the air flow through the carb.
Vacuum secondary’s with a manual trans? I was always told vacuum secondary’s with automatic and DP with a manual trans.

·
Registered
2,660 Posts
Vacuum secondaries work fine with a manual transmission.

I you can find a 6 cyl. Pinto or Maverick they will have 8" rear ends with 3.55 +/- gears.

·
Premium Member
10,036 Posts