Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
201 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm starting to get swayed by the rear sway bar mod- sorry, bad pun. Anyhow, is this something I'm going to benefit from? I do not plan to race this car in anyway, other than down the Interstate 10 in Los Angeles (Man , I'm full of jokes). What are your professional thoughts on this modification for someone who plans to use their car a little less than daily, and how much drilling into the frame rail is necessary? Are any sway bar kits better than others?

·
Registered
21,274 Posts
I'm not a suspension expert by any means but my comments are this. Leaf springs act completely different then coil springs. Leaf springs provide some anti roll while coil springs don't. As a result, generally speaking, you don't need as much if any rear roll bar on a leaf suspension while you need it on a coil sprung suspension. From observations from past posts on this subject from guys who race, they do not use a rear bar because it'll cause the car to snap around un- predictably. Even swapping out the front bushings on the leafs will have an effect on roll. I'd suggest reading up on the subject before doing any changes.

·
Vendor
1966 coupe and 1970 sportsroof
5,342 Posts
Save your money and time by not installing one. Even driving moderatley quickly around bends the rear bar will probably induce more oversteer than you like the feel of.

·
Registered
1,334 Posts
Leave the rear sway bar off and invest the money in some subframe connectors. The subframe connectors will help to tie the front and rear of the car together.

Tim

·
Premium Member
6,415 Posts
Save your money and time by not installing one. Even driving moderatley quickly around bends the rear bar will probably induce more oversteer than you like the feel of.
Amen to this! My car had BAD oversteer, it was scary. I took Shaun's advice and removed my rear sway bar. It solved the problem and the handling is mich more predictable now.