Vintage Mustang Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part MAY's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
289 2 barrel rebuilt carb. I have to hold the gas peddle all the way to the floor to get it to start. Will not idle really well

I’ve tried adjusting the float, adjusting the idle screw, choke, same results.
I am new at this so be gentle.

new starter, new plugs. Runs amazing on the road justnot in the lowgear or idling.

·
Premium Member
6,326 Posts
Welcom to VMF !! Your choke needs to be set correctly, your static and dynamic timing need to be correct, IF still an Autolite 2100...On a warm engine, The throttle blades should just be closed at idle, start with both idle mixture screws turned all the way in GENTLY til they stop then back out 1 and 1/2 turns to begin with (screw slots may not necessarily be equal), you may have a bad power valve or simply a vacuum leak, and a dozen little things in combination if checking those doesn't help.

·
Registered
1,201 Posts
289 2 barrel rebuilt carb. I have to hold the gas peddle all the way to the floor to get it to start. Will not idle really well

I’ve tried adjusting the float, adjusting the idle screw, choke, same results.
I am new at this so be gentle.

new starter, new plugs. Runs amazing on the road justnot in the lowgear or idling.