Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Some years ago a large piece of metal was in the roadway late at night... was either hit it or tag the car in the next lane. I chose the piece of metal. I jacked up the passenger side fender, luckily stopping just before the door. But since then this eyesore makes me sick every time i see it. Im at a point where can get it fixed. Do i get a new repo fender or do you think a body shop can fix it? Two concerns i have... new fender fitting issues, which im not super concerned about lines being perfectly straight, or for the body shop if they can get the mustang detail line to where it matches rest of the car. Whats your take?

Attachments

·
Dimples
3,463 Posts
I'm no professional body man or anything, but that looks like a replacement job to me. That crease is right on the body line, which would need to be basically rebuilt. If I was hell-bent on saving that fender, I would buy a replacement and section out that part as a partial replacement panel.

·
Registered
1,270 Posts
I would replace it. A really good metal finisher could probably straighten it, but the hours invested would exceed the cost of a replacement OE fender. I can also say that because I have a great source for OE parts less than 10 minutes from my house. I can only assume that this is a '66 and you live somewhere in California. If you are in SoCal, I might be able to help you locate one.

·
Registered
5,632 Posts