Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
505 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I am a self proclaimed apprentice. i have been in the hobby for 2 years now on Halloween, thats when i bought my 67 coupe with a 302. I installed a air gap intake and AFR heads. But as in the nature of this hobby one thing or another wasa always wrong. In fact I immediately got up in the HP race and went out and bought a roller 351 block and SCAT stroker crank with plans to build a 408. So that if any rice burner ever pulled up i would be able to show them what American power looked like

However I just took the coupe out for a drive today and it felt amazing, I still need an alignment but the get up and go of this 302 is amazing. I plan on installing 3.55's later on this year and I can only imagine what this car is going to do after that.

·
Registered
3,081 Posts
now imagine having another 50+hp under the hood with the stroker motor, depending on how you build it.

in the end the choice is yours. the 408 has teh advantage of the monster torque output that the 302 cant hope to match, but the 302 is lighter and better balanced.

·
Registered
312 Posts
So I am a self proclaimed apprentice. i have been in the hobby for 2 years now on Halloween, thats when i bought my 67 coupe with a 302. I installed a air gap intake and AFR heads. But as in the nature of this hobby one thing or another wasa always wrong. In fact I immediately got up in the HP race and went out and bought a roller 351 block and SCAT stroker crank with plans to build a 408. So that if any rice burner ever pulled up i would be able to show them what American power looked like

However I just took the coupe out for a drive today and it felt amazing, I still need an alignment but the get up and go of this 302 is amazing. I plan on installing 3.55's later on this year and I can only imagine what this car is going to do after that.