Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Afternoon all,
When it comes to most things I can make my way through and do a pretty decent job of figuring things out, grew up on farm, working on stuff a lot. However when it comes to body work I'm a newbie. I picked up this '67 convertible for a steal, however it needs some TLC. At some point the previous owner replaced both rear quarters, reason unknown, with generic '67/'68 quarters (does not have '67 vents on the sides) On both the drivers and pass side, they are rusted out where they meet the door jamb. My question is, is this repairable w/o completely replacing both quarters? Could a patch section be cut out of a correct '67 quarter to fix the corners and have correct vents, or would it be better to simply do the whole quarters, and door pillar on the pass side. (Pics attached)
Also under the hood on both sides where the fenders mate up there are some rust spots. The engine bay is in good shape except for the pictured sections. Again could these be cut out and patched easily or should entire panel be replaced.

Thanks for looking guys. In my short time here I have found that there are many knowledgeable people with very helpful recommendations and answers!
driv door.jpg pas door.jpg pas fend.jpg drv fend.jpg

·
Premium Member
3,965 Posts
You'll have to cut that back until you get to 100% clean solid metal and come back from there...that isn't just some surface rust that started recently. That's a sign somebody used body filler in a place that's crucial to any car, but especially a convertible's , structural integrity. I would recommend your fenders come off also so you can what other kinds of shenanigans are in play with those inner fenders...

·
Registered
5,176 Posts
Ouch! Which side of the steal were you on again?