Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,
Can I dye the red strap and paint the buckle or is it better to buy a whole new setup? I have a 65 Fastback.
Please advise and thank you for your email.
Chris W San Antonio, Tx

·
Registered
1,165 Posts
Hi,

I have no personal experience on this, but I've read they don't take dye well because they are nylon.

I have had good results in cleaning a set by soaking them for a couple of days in a bucket of water and BIZ color safe bleach. They didn't come out perfect, but they were much, much better.

Good luck,
John Thomas

·
Registered
1,895 Posts
I have read that you can get a fine restoration of your belts by some guys in Tyler. I think it was ssnakeoyl. I can't seem to pull up the website. Does any one else know about them? I don't know about price, but they supposedly do an excellent job. Good Luck, Todd P.

G

·
0 Posts