Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
1,118 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My 66 vert was changed from single exhaust to dual exhaust by the PO. They did NOT do a good job. I have a GT exhaust on order from Waldrons and I just got all the correct hardware from NPD for that style exhaust. I need to add the reinforcement plates. Is this a good project to try my hand at welding? I have access to an Eastwood MIG welder and I have a patient who is a master welder and instructor so I know I can get help. I could have my exhaust person do it when they fab up the H pipe to my Sanderson shorties, but I've always wanted to try welding.

Is this a good idea? Can people help me with the settings? My thought was punching holes in the plate and "spot" welding them in place. Looking for any help, comments, concerns.

Thanks

Peter

·
Registered
3,988 Posts
My 66 vert was changed from single exhaust to dual exhaust by the PO. They did NOT do a good job. I have a GT exhaust on order from Waldrons and I just got all the correct hardware from NPD for that style exhaust. I need to add the reinforcement plates. Is this a good project to try my hand at welding? I have access to an Eastwood MIG welder and I have a patient who is a master welder and instructor so I know I can get help. I could have my exhaust person do it when they fab up the H pipe to my Sanderson shorties, but I've always wanted to try welding.

Is this a good idea? Can people help me with the settings? My thought was punching holes in the plate and "spot" welding them in place. Looking for any help, comments, concerns.

Thanks

Peter