Vintage Mustang Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part MAY's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
1,164 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Since I'm fairly new to the classic car scene, I have nothing to compare it to, but should you be able to lock up your brakes when you want/need. I'm not expecting the same feel as modern brakes, I get that.

I currently have disks front and drums rear on my 66. I have a dual bowl MC. My old brakes were scary so I added a vacuum booster ( i know what some people feel bout this) and I do like that I don't need as much pedal pressure now. The car stops but there is no way I could lock them up. I recently changed the pads. Got Hawk high performance pads form NPD per their recommendations. Just put them on a few days ago and bedded them per recommendations. Haven't had time to take the car out yet as I need another alignment and will wait until that's done.

Curious what people think.

·
Registered
978 Posts
It depends on several factors.

If you had drums on all four and normal street tires then yes, you should absolutely be able to lock them all up.
If you have front disc and rear drum with normal street tires then you should be able to definitely lock up the rears. Fronts might lock up depending one how hard and fast you stomp the brake pedal. If the pavement has some loose sand/gravel on it then the front discs can definitely lock up.

Once you get into special pad/shoe materials then that will change things a bit.
With soft compound “high performance” tires the improved grip with the pavement will reduce locking up.

·
Registered
10,260 Posts
You don’t WANT them locked up in use..... you should be able to lock them up though. Something is not right.

ex-Global West GM
1991-1995

·
Registered
1,164 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Yes. If you stand on 'em they should lock.
It depends on several factors.