Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts
G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Looking for input on the use of Silicone brake fluid in older Mustang (67 GTA). I replacing my second master cylinder in 2 years. My cars sits alot and I'm guessing this is what has caused the deterioration of the current master cylinder. I have a new (rebuilt) Master cyl. but before installing I'm considering use of DOT 5 silicone fluid. I know the benefits but am concerned about leakage of old wheel cylinders, calipers, lines using the new fluid.

I used silicone fluid on my 86 show truck for several years with no ill effects (it sat alot as well). I didn't even bother to clean out the lines (not recommended I know). However it was a very low mileage, newer vehicle.

Anyone have any input?

hrdtail
67 GTA S code fastback

·
Registered
4,638 Posts
For a car that sits a lot I would recommend silicon brake fluid for it's non-corrosiveness. Glycol fluid will absorb moisture as where silicon won't. However I know if you replace your regular brake fluid about every 2 years this shouldn't be a problem, unless you live somewhere that is very humid.

Besides cost, silicone fluid can have it's drawbacks. It tends to compress under high temps which gives the brake pedel a spongy feel. Personally, I would go with silicone fluid for it's non-corrosive traits.

See my 69 convertible and the VMF parking lot at: http://www.geocities.com/Bishir1/FrontPage.html
http://www.jps.net/binay/webdocs/frontside_sig01.JPG

·
Registered
35,324 Posts
Although silicone fluid won't absorb moisture, this doesn't mean it will eliminate it. Because water won't mix, it will be trapped in low spots in the lines and calipers/wheel cylinders. I would stick with DOT3/DOT4 fluid changed every 2 years and only added from a sealed container. I'd only use DOT5 in racing applications for the higher boiling point and then only when compatible with rubbers and plastics in the rest of the brake system. IMHO only though.