Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
3,395 Posts
as a young kid Im no expert, but I believe it only has to do with older transmissions where you have to press the clutch once to disengage it, then press it again to change gears.

Im pretty sure this right, but the others will let you know

·
Registered
1,043 Posts
before transmissions had syncros, you would have to step on the clutch to take it out of gear, let off the clutch, than step on it again to put it back in gear. as opposed to steping on it, and going right from one gear to the next.

i have found it still comes in handy with wore out transmissions. i usualy have to double clutch my dd to get it into reverse.

or at least, i think thats right /forums/images/icons/smile.gif

- Jason

·
Registered
810 Posts
No problem, glad I could help. Next week I'll be posting about such topics as:

Where can I buy engine oil?
Why is the sky blue?
Why do chicks dig the long-ball?
How would I get ketchup stains out of a silk tie?
Should I be upset with "Let's just be friends?"

tmendham - I'm here for the timid!!!

·
Registered
560 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Can't wait to see "why is the sky blue?" My daughter has been asking that for some time and the only response I have is "because".

·
Registered
3,102 Posts
It helps on a new large truck tranny which can be tough to shift. When down shifting, you want to go to neutral, bring the engine up to it approximate RPM in the lower gear, depress the clutch and shift into the next lower gear. Double clutching on the up shift slows the transmission to where the synchros have and easier job and don't fight you. With old "crash box" transmission it was a necessity and a special skill.

·
Registered
1,638 Posts
You can sure tell it's Friday! LOL!!

·
Registered
1,043 Posts