Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,106 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What is the difference between single and double flare line? Do brake lines require double flare line connections? What about fuel lines? I have a regular (single) flaring tool, is there a different tool for double flares?

TIA

·
Registered
5,066 Posts
What is the difference between single and double flare line? Do brake lines require double flare line connections? What about fuel lines? I have a regular (single) flaring tool, is there a different tool for double flares?

TIA
I am not an expert, but someone will correct my errors I am sure:

1. double flares round the inside of the tube to provide a better seal than single flare. You have to use an additional mandrel-type thing (dont know the 'proper' name offhand) to produce the double flare after the single flare is done. These mandrels usually come in the flaring kits.

2. Brake lines will leak if you do not double flare. Fuel lines are OK with a single flare IIRC, if you mean carbuerator line (NOT fuel injection).

3. see #1.

here is a good link on flaring steel tube, it shows the 2xflare mandrel I am talking about:

http://www.joesfalcon.com/gentip2/gentip2.html

·
Registered
10,587 Posts
IME, a double flare lasts longer and seals better under the kinds conditions automotive brake systems operate under (vibration, hot-cold cycling and pressure). By folding the tube end over and under while stretching it out as the flare is made, strength is added to the flare to mitigate the tendancy for the stretched material to work harden and crack over time, causing leaks. Part of this is due to the small, thin tubing used. I make single flares in large diamater hydraulic tubing all the time and they operate fine in the 1.5-3 Kpsi range my systems utilize.