Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First off I'm new to the mustang thing, I have only really built early Camaros and other GM's, so I am not new to rebuilding classic cars, but please excuse some of my ignorance on the subject, I have taken my time to do search's on many questions I have already, and have also run across the Alex saga. So, i recently purchased a 65 fastback, with all of the body work replaced and primered, but it has no suspension components whatsoever (front or rear), it still has all of the stock mounting points though (from what I can tell from the shop manuals). My question is what do you guys suggest as far as a suspension, a coilover, stock, MII, strut, there's alot of options out there. It also has no motor, I am planning on installing a 2v 4.6l (I realize i need to modify the shock towers)that I have that has 3 miles on it and some mods (300hp) along with an 8.8 rear, and have looked up many threads about that and plan on contacting mustangsurfer when the time comes to install the engine. I also plan on driving it alot, and maybe take it to the track just for fun. I have also planned to spend some money on it, just not obscene amounts, so I'm not just looking for the budget way out. So knowing all that what are your suggestions.
thanks, wes

·
Registered
6,838 Posts
Well, you already have the rear end so a set of springs for the rate you want and a front suspension should fill in the gaps. If you are planning on having to modify the shock towers anyway, and you have none of the front suspension parts, I'd probably go with the Heidts set-up. This will give you all of your front suspension, front discs, front rack and pinnion, coil overs and it eliminates the shock towers. Sounds like a perfect match.

·
Registered
3,038 Posts