Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2,204 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm pretty new to this whole Stroker kit thang, but when I pay $1300 plus shipping for a kit and tell the operator the flywheel and balancer that I am using, receive my kit, give the whole box to my bud to have it installed then feel like I'm riding on square wheels becaue "oh, we don't balance the kits." I feel the need to vent.
http://www.corvetteforum.cc/zeroimg/smilies/mad.gif
There was nothing in the box which would lead me, my boyfriend or my mechanic friend to believe that it was not balanced - heck I paid enough for the thing.

If they're not going to balance it, how about a friggin' clue! I feel like an extra in the movie "EarthQuake" (1975) when I get on it.

I am "very unhappy". I finally got the car running, put everything back together, and now I have to pull the whole engine AGAIN!
http://www.corvetteforum.cc/zeroimg/smilies/banghead.gif

·
Registered
1,390 Posts
A Legit Rant though. What kit did you get and from who, just in case. Maybe we can kindly bend their ear so this doesn't happen again. I agree, for the price the stuff should have been balanced. Any idea what's off weight wise? I sure hope it's not the crank for your sake.

·
Registered
7,671 Posts
None of the stroker kits come balanced... Some companies will balance the assemblies for additional $$$, but there are too many rod/piston/balancer/flywheel combinations the buyer could add to throw off the balance.

But you are exactly right, the phone monkey should've gone over what would need to be done.

·
Premium Member
7,773 Posts