Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
560 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey guys.

So I just had my mustang in the shop for subframe connectors being installed. It's all done, good to go, so I start up the mustang and notice right away, the tach is being weird!

So right when I start the car, the tach shows 900rpm, and then it just stays there, doesn't matter if I rev the engine, doesn't change if I'm driving, just shows 900rpm, it doesn't even fluster or move at all, then it goes back to 0 when the car is off.

I've been trying to look this up, and look at all the wires, but I just can't figure it out!

I have MSD Digital 6A PN 6201 ignition box
and MSD PN 8920 Tach Adapter
and MSD Pro Billet Distributor PN 8578
Stock Gauges!

I have been running this set up for about 2 years now and it's always been perfect, so I know the wiring is correct.
I asked the guy who installed the subframe connectors about it, and he just shrugged and said he didn't do anything near there.

Any ideas?

·
7,010 Posts
I would be highly suspicious of the tach adapter.

I toasted two on my car while running an MSD box. The first time, it actually smoked it to the point it was melted...so easy to diagnose. The second time it looked fine but quit working.

Now...the only reason I'm not 100% certain is, in both cases my tach quit working all together....but still....IIWY I'd get a new tach adapter and try it. If that isn't it, keep it for a spare....because these are kind of notorious for lasting 3 or 4 years. Especially susceptible to damage if the car is ever jump started.

Did the guy WELD in the subframe connectors? May have inadvertently put high current into a piece of sensitive electronics.

Phil

·
Registered
560 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I would be highly suspicious of the tach adapter.