Vintage Mustang Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
111 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all,

Narrowed a noise I've been trying to track down to the distributor. When the engine is hot, after 15 or 20 minutes of driving (and oil nice and thin?) I can put a stethoscope on my distributor and hear a clackety rumbling. Figure it has something to do with the distributor, drive gear, or oil pump. The problem is, I have zero current knowledge of what's going on inside that hole (but I am learning). Appreciate you taking a look at the video linked below. Just a video I took looking down the distributor hole.

By the way, the distributor is some kind of HEI type conversion. The gear on the distributor looks to be in good shape, with only the slightest signs of rubbing in the center of the teeth. What else.... Posted in another thread that I found gas in my vacuum advance canister. Working through that. Assume that they are unrelated but I could be wrong. The engine is a stock 289. It was rebuilt or freshened up prior to me owning the car (not sure of extent of work done). The noise is slowly getting worse. The engine now has a little shake now whereas before it was fairly smooth.

Can't think of anything else. Thanks for looking.
Sean

https://youtu.be/VVSxLZmfyRU

Attachments

·
Administrator
19,304 Posts
The only thing in there that jumps to mind to me that would make such a noise would be the timing chain.

·
Registered
111 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Ha! That's great.

Quick comment on the gear on the distributor. Is it supposed to move? It has some up and down play which I hear is normal, within certain tolerances, but it also wobbles. I mean if you grab it by the sides between your thumb and index finger, you can rock it a little back and forth.

·
Registered
111 Posts
Discussion Starter #5